Words that just don’t sound right together

I’m looking at book a flight to South Carolina. My family is there (mom & my brudder) so I want to visit them. I go to Priceline to check out prices for tickets. When putting in the flight information I come across the seating options. There’s First Class, Business, and economy as I expected. But between Economy and Business is something that I didn’t expect to see: Premium Economy. What the fuck is Premium Economy seating?? How do you make economy better, but not quiiiite as good as business. Oh, and the price difference between economy and premium economy was almost $200!

A search on Google brought up this description for premium economy seating:

premium economy offers “about 5 to 7 inches of extra legroom as well as additional amenities, which can include 1 to 2 extra inches of seat width; 2 to 3 extra inches of seat recline; adjustable headrests, legrests, or lumbar support; larger personal TV screens; laptop power ports

That doesn’t sound all that bad when reading about. Its just that name is terrible! The words premium and economy just don’t sound good together.

Let’s think of new names for this seating. Maybe ‘sub-business seating’, or ‘better than economy’ seating. Oh I know, ‘shitty business seating’! There’s always ‘trying to not look super cheap seating’ as well.

The airlines point of view naming could be something like ‘$200 for 2 inches’, or ‘If we call it something new we can charge more for it’ seating.

How about you? What do you think are better names than ‘premium economy’? Post your names in the comments.

[End of Line]

Leave a comment